Lemon-Coconut Loaf Cake

I’m not going to say South Louisiana is the most Catholic place in the United States, because I’m pretty sure Boston has got us beat, but hoo boy, it’s a close one. Public schools are off for Mardi Gras and Ash Wednesday, and our spring break always lined up with Easter. Pittsburgh is also super Catholic, which I think is part of why I love it — nobody bands together quicker than a bunch of lapsed Catholics who drink too much.

My Mawmaw, my dad’s mom, was probably the most devout Catholic in my family. Before I was in school, I’d tag along to her Catholic Daughters meetings, which she’d host with elaborate tea trays and finger sandwiches. Her house had a crucifix in every room. She said her rosary daily and gave Communion to people who were too sick to make it to church (which meant I could always sneak some leftover unconsecrated host to snack on 😬).

Easter Sunday meant dressing up, going to 11 a.m. Mass in town and having a big lunch at Mawmaw’s house after church. But the day before Easter was my favorite, because I got to help decorate her coconut cake.

I don’t know the details of the cake recipe itself, but it was always in the shape of an Easter Bunny, with gum drops and licorice and jelly beans to decorate. I learned how to frost cakes between grabbing fistfuls of coconut flakes and sneaking gum drops from the bag.

Mawmaw died when I was in college, but I still crave coconut this time of year because of her, and I think of her every time I bake. This lemon-coconut loaf cake isn’t quite as elaborate as a giant bunny cake, but I think she’d be a fan of it. 🙂 Plus it has lemon, one of my top five favorite flavors ever. I’ll add it to a dessert whenever I get the chance.

I made this cake three times: first from the original Southern Living recipe, which was too dry and not coconut-y enough; second with some changes, but it broke when I flipped it out of the pan because I didn’t let it cool long enough. It turned out perfectly by try #3, and it should for you, too, if you make it exactly like this.

P.S. This Catholic talk just made me think of one of my all-time favorite John Mulaney bits. (And with your spirit?!)

Lemon-Coconut Loaf Cake

Adapted from Southern Living

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 1/3 cups granulated sugar

3 large eggs

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup sour cream

zest from 1 medium lemon

1 cup sweetened flaked coconut (save 1/2 cup to toast in oven)

For lemon glaze:

2 cups powdered sugar

juice from 1 medium lemon

2-3 tablespoons milk, or more if needed

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Beat butter at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Gradually add sugar, beating until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating just until blended after each addition. Stir in melted coconut oil until blended.
  2. Sift together flour, salt and baking soda. Add to wet mixture, alternating with sour cream, making sure to begin and end with dry mixture. After each addition, beat until just blended. Stir in lemon zest and 1/2 cup coconut. Pour batter into a well-greased and floured 9- x 5-inch loaf pan.
  3. Bake at 300 degrees for 1 hour and 20 minutes. About 10 minutes before your timer goes off, stick a toothpick in the center to ensure it’s done in the middle. It could be perfectly baked earlier or later depending on your oven temperature.
  4. Cool in pan on a wire rack for at least 20 minutes. Run a butter knife around the edges to make sure it doesn’t stick. Carefully remove from pan to wire rack and cool completely, at least another hour.
  5. Toast remaining coconut: spread on a baking sheet and put in a 300-degree oven for 5-7 minutes, until golden brown. Check frequently and shake pan to make sure it doesn’t burn.
  6. Make lemon glaze: whisk powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons milk and lemon juice. Add more milk, one tablespoon at time, until it’s the consistency you like.
  7. Pour, spoon or drizzle lemon glaze over cake. Sprinkle with toasted coconut.

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Coconut Loaf Cake

  1. I knew & loved your MawMaw! So glad to see this blog. I’ll try & keep up with it! Thanks for sharing! Barbara Petry, Gueydan Louisiana!

    Like

Leave a comment